DFW HIMSS Advisory Board - 2018-2019

The DFW HIMSS chapter is proud to announce that we now have an advisory board consisting of senior healthcare leaders in the DFW area. This board will serve as a guide to the chapter board for steering direction of our educational programming and assisting the chapter in meeting its goals for the year. The advisory board will also direct the chapter towards additional national recognition similar to our Chapter of the Year designation in 2018. The advisory board consists of Melinda Costin, Dr. Ferdinand Velasco, and Donna Montgomery.


Melinda Costin

With over 30 years of healthcare experience, Melinda Yates Costin is a pioneer in healthcare informatics developing and implementing products supporting the EMR/EHR concept.  This includes the area of clinical decision support where she gained significant experience in the processes and value surrounding care quality.  Accomplishments of note over the course of Ms. Costin’s career include the development and implementations of EHR’s, including one in conjunction with Intermountain Health Care, a recognized leader in the usage of clinical rules to promote patient safety.  Melinda has provided leadership to three different healthcare systems, two healthcare software vendors, and a healthcare consulting company prior to joining JPS Health Network.

Melinda has been active in HIMSS for over 20 years and active in CHIME, as both a Foundation member, and now as a CHIME member for over 10 years. She has received her CHCIO certification, her FCHIME, and is a past member of the CHIME Board, as well as becoming a Fellow of HIMSS (FHIMSS) and receiving her CPHIMS. She is an active industry speaker and has lectured at many well-known healthcare IT events including Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS), the College of Health Information Management Executives (CHIME), Towards An Electronic Patient Record (TEPR), the American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA), the Summer Institute in Nursing Informatics (SINI) as well as international events in Frankfurt, Germany; Geneva, Switzerland; and Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. She previously held the position of Adjunct Professor at Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing.

Donna Montgomery

A resourceful and ambitious healthcare executive with a successful record of accomplishment in clinical processes and workflow development.  Comprehensive experience in delivering technology and information to clinicians/leaders that supports evidence-based practice and clinical workflow.  Positions a healthcare organization for meeting its goals by improvements through implementation of new clinical processes.  An intelligent top performer with proven aptitude for evidence-based integration, process improvement and leadership of interdisciplinary teams.  As a forward-thinker, sets a strategic direction to secure the long-lasting success of an organization.

Dr. Ferdinand Velasco

As Texas Health’s chief health information officer, Dr. Ferdinand Velasco leads the system’s functions responsible for clinical decision support, medical informatics, nursing informatics, electronic health record reporting, quality measurement, and clinical analytics. Through his and his team's leadership of the implementation of the electronic health record, Texas Health was awarded the Enterprise Davies Award for Excellence in 2013 and has achieved HIMSS EMRAM Stage 7.

Prior to joining Texas Health Resources in 2002, Dr. Velasco served as an assistant professor and physician champion for the implementation of computerized physician order entry (CPOE) at the Weill Medical College of Cornell University. He simultaneously practiced as a cardiothoracic surgeon at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital.

A Fellow of the Healthcare Information Management Systems Society (HIMSS), Dr. Velasco serves on the North America Board of HIMSS and previously chaired the society’s Quality, Cost, Safety Committee. Modern Healthcare honored Dr. Velasco as an inaugural member of the Top 25 Clinical Informaticists in Healthcare. He received his medical degree from the University of California, Los Angeles School of Medicine.